As of July 1, 2016, residents of Idaho 21 and older are able to carry a concealed gun inside city limits without a permit. Before the ruling residents had to pass a series of tests to carry a hand gun. Idaho is just one of eight states to not enforce permits. Even without requiring a permit, not everyone can legally carry a gun.
Before the new law, you had to get a permit to carry in city limits. Getting a permit requires you to take a three-hour class going over handling technique, safety, and concealed carry laws. There’s a mandatory quiz at the end of the class to ensure you were paying attention. After completing the class, you went to the sheriff’s office for a background check. The background check looks for a history of mental illness, domestic violence, etc. If you pass the background test, then you could get a concealed carry permit. The permit costs $20. Even with the new law, having a permit is still beneficial. You might be fine in Idaho without a permit, but you won’t be able to carry in most states. Having the Idaho permit allows you to carry in 30 out of 50 states.
Now almost all Idaho residents can carry a concealed gun inside city limits without a permit. The legal age to carry a concealed weapon is 21 and older. Residents who are convicted felons or drug users, however, cannot legally carry. The guns must also remain hidden when in public.
Guns can be dangerous, so learning concealed carry safety procedures is highly recommend. The sheriff station in Post Falls, Idaho hopes to reduce potential risk by offering a class. The class only takes 2 hours to complete and goes over gun safety and it’s free! So far, classes have been completely full.
Another thing to keep in mind: businesses have the right to deny anyone with a concealed fire arm, except law enforcement. Some of these companies include Buffalo Wild Wings, Chili’s, Starbucks, and Target. They do so to ensure customers feel comfortable and to create an inviting atmosphere. So if you plan on going to any of those locations, then it’s best to leave your gun at home.
If you’re a law abiding citizen of Idaho, you can carry a concealed weapon without a permit. You’re able to carry in city limits and in public areas unless told otherwise. If you don’t have a permit, you won’t be able to legally carry across the Idaho border. Getting a permit will allow you to carry in 30 states. If you plan to carry, then take the time to learn about gun safety.
Idaho residents remain divided over the new law. What’s your stance? Leave a comment and share us on Facebook!